Home | Feedback | Contact Us | Sitemap   

Nepal's Short Geography

Nepal is a small country of 147, 181 sq. km. in the South Asia region having 885km in east-west direction and with a mean north-south width of 193 km. Two great neighbours border it, the People's Republic of China in the north and India in the south, east and west.

The country is divided into three distinct ecological regions terai, hill and mountain. The terai in the south is a narrow strip of hot alluvial plain that runs from east to west of the country. It consists 23 per cent of the total land area of the country. Due to fertile soil, easy access and better infrastructure the region has been traditional destination of migrants from the hill and the mountain in the north. As a result the region now includes 48 per cent of the total population of the country. The hill region, lying between the terai in the south and the high mountains in the north, is a complex region of hills and valleys and river basins. Expanding to about 42 per cent of the total land area, the region includes 44 per cent of the total population of the country. The mountain region, a region of high-rise mountains, high valleys and harsh climatic conditions, covers 35 per cent of the total land area but includes only about eight per cent of the total population.

The country is divided into 75 districts and 5 development regions for its administrative purpose. The development regions are made up of districts. There are 16 districts in Eastern Development Region and 19 in Central Development Region. Western Development Region consists 16 districts and Mid-Western and Far-Western Development Regions include 15 and 9 districts respectively. Each district is divided into a number of village development committees and municipalities. Currently there are 3,915 village development committees' and58 municipalities including one metropolitan (Kathmandu) and four sub metropolitan cities (Biratnagar, Birganj, Lalitpur and Pokhara).